Simon icon Simon
Flexible server monitoring

Malware Site Monitoring

Sorry if this has been asked over & over - I couldn't find a way to search the forum.

I want to be able to scan files for changes and look for new files/folders on my hosting account (contains multiple domains).

What is the best way to do this?

If with Simon - what settings / function do I use? I've tried the http but that seems to give changes every minute or shows the site as unavailable when it is available.

For the new files - do I use the ftp script add on?
Sorry I'm new to Simon and can't figure it out in the time I have to implement a solution.

David Sinclair's picture

Re: Malware Site Monitoring

There's a search box at the bottom of every page, but I'm happy to answer questions.

I'm not entirely sure what you're after, but if you want to monitor your website's pages for changes by hackers, the Web (HTTP) service would be perfect. If the page content is dynamic, you can use the Smart Change Detection feature (soon to be replaced by a more versatile Filter feature in version 2.6) to examine a relevant static portion of the page.

If you want to look for new files or folders, you could use the FTP Directory Listing service, again looking for changes.

If you need something more flexible, you could write a PHP or Perl script (either locally or on your server) to check whatever attributes you want and have Simon use that to monitor.

Hope this helps.

Yes this is what I want to do - (filter for possible web hacks)

A few questions for you:

- Do i have to do a web filter for every domain on the hosting account or can a web HTTP service be configured for say the public_html folder so any change to any domain would be seen?

- If possible for public_html folder will this still trigger false stats for page views?

- If I have to do one domain at a time (arghh!) how can I get Simon to scan every page on the domain for changes without giving false page view stats (say with Google analytics)?