Simon icon Simon
Flexible server monitoring

Email/SMS setup, new user!

Hello,
I am new to Simon and not very computer literate so just wanted some "instructions for dummies" to help! Basically I want to be notified via text message whenever a sales website that I often look at has a new item added to it. I signed up for txtlocal.co.uk and managed to send a text message to my phone by using my hotmail account (e.g. myname@hotmail.com to 01234567890@txtlocal.co.uk). My problem is I cannot work out how to get Simon to send an email to the txtlocal address, or to my hotmail address for that matter. I have set up a service/test to check the website and added a new notifier. The notifier settings are:
Notifier Kind: Email
No variable inserted or anything else in big box underneath.
On right hand side of screen the settings are:
To: 01234567890@txtlocal.co.uk
CC: 01234567890@txtlocal.co.uk (Just in case To didn’t work by itself).

Transport: smtp.live.com

I have tried setting transport to automatic, but still nothing happens when I click notify now. I also tried putting my hotmail address in the To and CC sections, and the txtlocal one in the From section, but this also didn't work (and seemed to be the wrong way round?)

I have also tried creating another notifier, this time:
Notifier Kind: SMS
Method: Email
Subject: Check website!
Recipients: 01234567890@txtlocal.co.uk