deeper use for Simon

I work in the Security industry and found that the transfer for quick despatch and a brief summary for patrols attending appears to slowed by the often found lack of proper software. Primarily monitoring/comms use a system that links sensors and alarm panels over phonelines. Whereby jobs get dispatched immediately but in a slow cumbersome way via RT or cellphone. Some companies used PDAs with scanners, but the multitude of firms and especially the small businesses appear to waste a lot of time verbally relaying the vital information the patrolman needs when attending a job. Relaying the information back is even mire frustrating. Several companies are tackling this problem but none have made a concerted effort in using a proper and user-friendly system that will make multitasking a breeze.
Currently all security companies are using the other cheaper computers with the usual problems but had a quick look at Simon and suspect with a few modifications will be an excellent tool for security needs.

Just think about it. It may revitalize and inject a bigger interest I Mac sales with much more reliable OS than they're currently using.
As security is only a minor niche, emergency services could use this system too.

David Sinclair's picture

Re: deeper use for Simon

I do think that many customers use Simon for security monitoring of various kinds, though mostly in terms of website security.

I agree that it could be leveraged in interesting ways for more conventional security too. Though I wouldn't want the liability of protecting banks and such! (I certainly can't make promises about performance, since there are many factors that could interfere.)

Re: deeper use for Simon

The current program most are using is called Patriot v.6.
Not that good but relatively simple to use.